Day 1 – A breath of fresh air?

Well after a 5:30am wake up call from our cat charlie, I still ended up running out the door to go to my first Oxygen Therapy session this morning. I sat outside looking at where i would spend around an hour and was shown the mask I would be wearing and how everything gets hooked up.

Wasn’t sitting for too long before the 1st person I would be sitting with arrived and thankfully for the strange way in which my mind reacts to MS sufferers, he appeared to have good use of his legs as he went by. I don’t know why I have this fear of being with other MS sufferers just like people cannot explain a fear of spiders or of heights.The other two people to join me were not so steady on their feet and straight away I could feel my mind working overtime on this. Its worth mentioning at this point however, the Oxygen therapy tank is offered to sufferers of a range of illnesses but this doesn’t seem to matter to me in my head. I tried to just blank out that I had seen them struggling but I was quite unsuccessful with this.

I was extremely lucky that my long suffering partner Marta had joined me to keep me company and once it was time to put the mask on, I quickly put on headphones and we watched some Simpsons episodes to take me mind off it all. Very bizarre as they alter the pressure inside the tank and my ears needed to be popped more times than is needed when a plane takes off or lands.The sound of rushing air couldn’t be ignored either, each time i breathed in or out and I could feel myself becoming self conscious of my breath intake. Was i breathing too fast? Was i breathing too slowly? Its ok, I already know there is something wrong with my head, I promise I am trying to work on it.

I can’t say i feel any different after being there today, the aches, pains and tiredness are all still here if not slightly moreso no doubt thanks to my cat alarm clock. But I wouldn’t expect to feel different after one session, that would be one hell of a miracle product if it did that! So I am keeping an open mind, or at least trying to, and back I go tomorrow night to see if the nerves I had this morning are less and don’t cause my stomach to flip quite so many times. I still refuse to think that I will always need to do this now but I can’t see any harm in giving it a shot. Tomorrow is a whole new day!

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

