My MS vs PIP

Originally I started writing this blog to document my use of oxygen therapy to help with my MS, however now something else has become a much more pressing.

Due to the DLA being replaced by PIP, Personal Independence Payment, I am no longer eligible to receive the enhanced mobility component and so I have lost my car, I’ve lost my freedom, I’ve lost my job and, rather ironically, I’ve lost my independence. Recently my story has been picked up by the Daily Record, the Mirror and then my local paper the Midlothian Advertiser.

The more I have looked into how the DWP deals with PIP claims, the scarier the picture painted becomes. There are so many people losing their mobility component even though it’s obvious that they need it just to get on with their day. In my case it essentially means i am housebound and completely reliant on those around me to do things that some would take for granted. Drive to the supermarket. Drive to the hospital for regular appointments. Hell, I’m gonna miss the tedious act of putting fuel in. I will soon become reliant on people taking time off work to do for me what I currently do for myself! Something that feels quite alien in a “Personal Independence Payment” world.

I decided right after getting my letter telling me I was no longer eligible for my mobility car, that getting that one decision overturned was not enough. The stories of other people’s hellish experience of somehow needing to justify their disability has angered me and it should anger you!

I’m going to use this page to keep posting about my journey through the revisitation and appeals process. Perhaps it will prove useful to those going through the same thing. Or perhaps, if you’re not angry yet, you will be as I go through this!

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

