The Pros and Cons

I kinda avoided posting over the weekend because I don’t think anyone wants to read me going off on a rant at the political fallout since Fridays (insane) result! But as the pound dropped and things were left up in the air due to the uncertainty over Britains future, I started to wonder how this may affect the welfare state. Since nothing is going to happen till September unless they change their mind, I feel the stock market and the pound are going to struggle to bounce back until article 50 is invoked. (Damn i started to rant, moving on). Anyway I’ll be keeping an eye on that to see if there are further cuts to the much needed assistance people with disabilities should get.

I’ve been approached by a disability lifestyle magazine to discuss how PIP is affecting me. I’ll be doing an over the phone interview tomorrow and it should be out next month (I’ll let you know when I find out a date). I’m just happy that people actually want to hear from me, most of the time I just ramble on till people stop listening.

I got something in the post yesterday which i hid in a drawer and won’t look at again for the next 5 months. Noble as motabilitys intentions may be, their cheque for £2000 to use towards a new car just smacks of defeat, like if I banked it I’m saying, “Oh well I give up you win cheers”. I do think it is important to say though, the guys at motability really were trying to help. Its not their decision to take peoples cars back. So the fact they let me hold onto mine for a couple extra weeks was gratefully appreciated.

Need to call my neurologist this week to see if they have received a letter from the Welfare Rights Team asking for evidence for my appeal. Want to try and get as much of it as fast as I can (Is it just me or does that not read right?!)

The next few days are gonna be slow going I think. Hate sitting twiddling my thumbs but really feels like I can’t do much else. Now this is the last I will say on it, today anyway, I promise. I’m aware that despite fighting this it could all be for nowt! Either Scotland goes independent and sets up its own version of DLA or PIP, preferably DLA, or the welfare powers move to Holyrood over the next 18-24 months!! So no matter what is decided during my appeals process I will need to go through this all over again within the next 2 years. If you think I’m annoyed now just wait until then!!

I’d feel sorry for you reading me have a wee whinge but you should think of my girlfriend, she has to actually listen to this 24/7 🙂

 

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

