Just an example of what’s to come!

Between Friday night and this afternoon, I have relied on family for 8 journeys! Now we can kinda accept these journeys over the weekend cos I’m not causing my family too much chaos but today, today is different.

They have had to ask for time off work to ferry me to the hospital and back, a journey the DWP seem to think I’m capable of taking on my own! 2 buses on a more than 1 and a half hour journey to leith, with walks between the bus stops and hospital (Baring in mind their own assessment says I can walk no more than “50 metres”) and then the same back again! Again my life takes on a rather ironic punishment as I go to…..THE CHRONIC PAIN CLINIC!

Am I wrong?! Am I living in lala land?! Does it seem unreasonable to receive help from the Welfare State rather than diminish the work force of a small family business??!

This past week has done more to make me feel needy and incapable than the last 12 years living with this progressive debilitating disease! Don’t think I’ve ever felt as useless as I do right now!

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

3 thoughts on “Just an example of what’s to come!”

  1. Have you asked the hospital to supply transport for you? I now go back and forward in a patient transport ambulance. I’m collected from my home and delivered to the hospital. From there the transport attendants fetch a wheelchair for me and take me to the hospital transport waiting area. As my husband comes with me, he takes me from there, but others are collected by a porter and taken to the clinic they are attending, and of course, the whole thing again to go home. Like many services, you have to ask to find out about it. My health region has it on their website so it worth a look there. Failing that, when I was fitter, I took a taxi which the hospital paid for, again, so ask about it. There are also several hospital service organisations who can put you in contact with individuals who volunteer their time, cars and petrol just for this very thing. These may not help you outside of hospital visits but it could take this one issue off your stress list, something we all need.

    I’m sorry that you have had such a bad experience with PIP, for one, mine went through without the slightest hiccup. I was terrified by all the horror stories like yours, but I filled in the forms and there was one visit with an analyst and that was it, so it is working for some of us. Don’t give up, keep appealing as you do deserve you payments as well.

    Like

    1. Hiya it’s not something I’ve looked into to be honest but a big part of me just doesn’t believe I’m at that level of care needed. The truth is I’m capable of getting around but only thanks to motability. I know all too well how much the MS is going to steal from my life, in time! I had a certain amount of control of my life stolen from me and all it has accomplished is to make it flair up and send me towards the edge! As I go through this I know I’ll have to find new ways to get from A to B but it just feels so wrong that people are forced to hand over the little freedom and independence they have. I’m glad PIP came through for you especially when we are surrounded by the awful stories. I keep an eye on your posts and it is great that you are so open about what you’re going through. You take care and tomorrow is a new battle x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I truly understand how you feel, all you can do is keep appealing but right now, you have to preserve your health. As I said, stress is something none of us need, for your own sake, look in to those alternatives as in many cases they are there, just waiting. (((Hugs)))

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

