A restful break?

Just got back in from a family camping trip up at Loch Lomond. Stunning scenery and we were actually very lucky with the weather.

I did as little as possible! Had to leave them to set up the tents and the beds, cook the food and head back to the car if I needed something. It’s great that I can just sit back and watch them but at the same time it frustrates the hell out of me!

My contribution was leaning against the wooden frame of the swings, putting as little weight as I could through my legs, and pushing my youngest niece with 2 pushes and then a 5 minute break till the next push! I know both of my nieces realise I’m not gonna be able to do much when it comes to activities but no one ever makes me feel bad about the little I can do, and the girls appreciate the fact that I will do whatever I can, even themselves prompting me to take a break in the seat for a while. 2 very smart and very caring girls. 

Getting into bed was interesting. We’d bought an airbed so that I wasn’t having to go right down to the ground. Still needed to get a little help getting in and out but we managed it.

And of course it wouldn’t be Scotland without our answer to mosquitos. Midges! I had the interesting case of trying to tell the difference between a midge bit, and pain caused by nerve damage. Now that I’m home and showered it turns out that what I thought was nerve damage was a bite, and what I thought was a bite was nerve damage. It was a fun game to play though!

So I’m on the couch and I’m not moving! Even if these high winds take my roof off, I’m staying on my couch! I had a great time spending it with my family! We spent most of our nights telling stories and laughing our heads off, so the other campers are probably glad to see the back of us.

When you have MS you know you are going to pay a price for what you’ve been doing physically, but I will always be willing to pay that price if it means spending time with those closest to me!

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

