My 1st carless adventure!

Well I had to drag my legs off the couch and out the door to the busstop yesterday to deal with some things in the town. Now my idea was to get as much done in one trip to save me travelling often as its a hard shift just to get to the bus so no idea when I will have the strength and energy to do it again! This was a great idea, in theory, but apparently everyone else didn’t read the memo!

First task was to go to the library to apply for bus pass, something I expect I’ll use about twice a year lol. All info in and should be here next week. This was the only success of my day!

Next was to the council to get my blue badge sorted. I was told after applying on the .gov website I needed to go in there and get evidence scanned in etc. They had absolutely no idea why I was there and what they were expected to do! Gave me a number to call and sent me on my way. It’s my own fault really, expecting the centre that send out the badges to know how to deal with actually getting the badges!

Third and final trip was to the job centre plus to get answers about the ESA form explained so I could get that sorted. Again the .gov website and application form told me to go there and….. Yup they had no idea about ESA at all and gave me another phone number to call! Again, stupid, stupid me. Who am I to have the audacity to think that the building that deals with benefits would have staff there who would be able to give out info, about benefits?! So, with 1 out of 3, I headed back home.

So annoyed at my lack of success as before I’d even gone on my trek, and it was trek, my left leg decided the ground was 50cm further away than it really was. It’s always been interesting that one, trying to punch your foot through concrete! Couple of rests on way to get to the busstop didn’t do much good for me, was already panting before I sat down on the bus! I just constantly reminded myself that the DWP assessed me able to walk no more than 50m, and expect me to walk 150m to the bus stop. Think I’ll be bringing that little nugget of comedy gold up at my appeal! I also want that in writing so I can frame it!

Got back home and the trip had taken its toll. Arms twitching, legs getting confused about which was my left and which was my right, lovely light headedness with little patches of blurred vision and all just covered under an umbrella of fatigue. Gives me more exercise in the flat though as i cover twice as much distance trying to get to the kitchen than i normally do, so you know it’s not all bad(!) So picked my space on the couch, slumped into the cushion, put the telly on and tried to not move for as long as possible. Living the life of Riley(!)

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

