Is anybody listening? Not the decision makers!!

I was asked a few weeks back to contribute to a story from the MS society which was posted yesterday. Here it is for people who may not have seen it.

David Trotter, a 32-year-old IT worker from Midlothian, was forced to hand back his Motability car earlier this year after being moved onto PIP.

He was diagnosed with MS 11 years ago and started receiving DLA two years later.

The payments helped him with the day-to-day extra costs of living with a disability, as well as allowed him to get a Motability car.

But after an assessment for PIP in March, it was decided he no longer qualifies for the higher rate of mobility, despite having a chronic, disabling condition which badly affects his ability to walk.

Since having his car taken away, David has been unable to travel to hospital appointments, his job (which is 15 miles away), the shops, and generally to get out and about.

He says the combination of buses and trains is more than he can physically cope with: “My nearest bus stop is 150 metres away, but they’ve said I can walk no further than 50 metres. I don’t quite understand what they want me to do.

“This new benefit has ironically taken “personal independence” away from people like myself and will have an effect on many people with MS for years to come.

“I have already started to feel that confidence I have built up over the years slip away from me, and trying to deal with the mental aspect of this is proving to be extremely difficult.”

David is challenging the decision and his appeal will be heard in  Edinburgh next month.
Read more at http://thirdforcenews.org.uk/tfn-news/incurable-illness-sufferers-devastated-by-tory-benefits-cut#ZDrxGGASTlZQRTsy.99

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

