Money, so they say, is the root of all evil today

Hopefully the rest of my day will follow this mornings example. The DWP have paid the money I’m owed into my account!! Will be a nice deposit for my new car. Unfortunately, as I currently have no car, I can’t get myself to the dealership to pick one out 😂. Need to wait till someone’s off work to take me in.

It’s very easy to think this fight has been all about money. It’s not, or at least not directly. This has been about independence, freedom and getting the help someone like me needs to lead the best life i can. It is all about money for the DWP though.

When I think back over it all I can’t help but think that the DWP telling me to walk to the bus stop had as much chance of happening as if they’d told me to flap my arms and fly to work! How can they expect so much from so many people that they are physically incapable of achieving?! We know our limits and we know we will pay a price if we go over those limits. You have take it easy today because you want to do something in a few days time!

So what’s next? Get the car, go back to work. But I am not done with them yet! Just because I successfully appealed does not make me forget about those people that cannot find the strength to do that, and they shouldn’t have to. PIP is a useless replacement for DLA which had its problems, don’t get me wrong, but it was at least closer to the mark than what we have now. It’s like updating your phone to iOS10 and then it won’t turn on! We’re just going backwards!

We can’t let them win though. I have an autoimmune disease because the only thing tough enough to kick my ass, is me!

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

