Helpful tip #1

To begin with, this may be obvious to some but not so obvious to others. It certainly wasn’t for me.

Having been on DLA for many years with my motability car, my life has been helped so much with the day-to-day activities such as shopping, getting to work etc. It had become almost normality for me. So when asked at the assessment about what I could or couldn’t do, I never separated my answers from the fact I already had the car. When I then phoned them to tell them they had made the wrong decision and all the answers I had given relied on having the car, they didn’t care! “Oh no that doesn’t matter, we just needed to know if you have the mental capacity to plan it!” So at my reassessment in 6 years I’ll be telling them I can mentally see the benefits in using a torch to flash out morse code into the sky to hitchhike a ride on a UFO into work! Will it work??! “Oh no you told me that didn’t matter!” Idiots!

Can I plan a journey? Yes. Can I then take that journey? Only if I have a car!! This was irrelevant to them!

Now I’m not saying people should go there, “lying” about their current situation. What I am saying is to almost have two sets of answers for them. For example, with MS, I can move more if I have not already knackered myself out having to try and walk from a to b! The tiredness builds and builds, so tiring out my legs affects my ability to concentrate, my memory, my hand eye coordination and increases the pain I feel. It’s amazing the difference walking to and sitting in the car makes.

I’m not sure the best way to make sure you give them answers that are actually relevant to what they are “testing.” I just know that there can be no sense in giving them answers that only fit into the real world because you are already using what they’re intent on taking away.

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

