God, the devil and Dave!

I was lying in bed unable to sleep a couple of nights back and I started remembering how I used to describe to people what getting a diagnosis of MS was like. 

I left the catholic church over 15 years ago and I respect anyone’s choice to practice whatever religion they want. Therefore I do not tell this tale to be blasphemous in any way. If  you would rather not read it for fear of somehow being offended, close the window. If you choose to continue then, well it’s not really my fault then is it?!

I had a pretty good childhood. I played all sorts of sports, football, tennis, badminton, basketball and went running a lot. Damn I was fast! If I’d known then what I know now I’d have been Scotlands answer to Forest Gump! Would just keep running. Had lots of friends, a few girlfriends and went to every party there was!

Me and God would sit down to a friendly game of chess now and then. One time we had to stop mid game and we’d continue the next day. When I went back to it, my pieces that were once in positions of potential victory were now staring down the slope of defeat! This wasn’t where I’d left them, He had cheated! Now if there’s someone you could trust not to move the pieces around you’d think it’d be Him. Wrong!!

Well we kinda exchanged words. I wanted to pick the chess table up and hurl it across the room so much. I didn’t, but I was close. Eventually I did say things which didn’t go down too well and I was thrown out and told never to come back unless I apologised and took it all back! Good luck getting that(!)

I was so confused how this was possible that I didn’t know what to trust anymore. The friendships faded. The girlfriends left. Invites to parties stopped arriving. I was now destined to only watch sports from my living room and my exercise involved only reaching for the remote.

But I never threw the table across the room. It’d be so simple and easy to do but I refused to! 

As time went on I started to play chess again. Not with Him but still a games a game! Friendships grew, I found a woman to love and who loves me and, while not exactly party central, I’m invited at least! The sport, not much I can do about that one but suppose it can’t all be rainbows and lollipops!

I know what you’re asking: Where does the devil come into it? Well…he doesn’t. I used to love a show called God the devil and bob but it got cancelled so I nicked it! Add it to my sin list.

When I die (which won’t be till 2100 as I wanna live in 3 different centuries) I’m sure I will stand before Him and be judged. But I am made in His image so believe me when I say I will be doing some judging of my own! I will ask the unanswered questions and demand an answer, I hope I won’t hold the line up too much!

2016 has been bad for so many reasons! Let’s hope that 2017 will bring more joy and smiles to the faces of those who end this year with a frown!

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

2 thoughts on “God, the devil and Dave!”

Leave a Reply

