People are still listening and still hoping for change!

Been a busy start to the year so I’ve been totally shattered which is why I’ve gone quiet lately. My story and the chaos PIP caused me is still popping up which resulted in BBC Scotland contacting the MS Society to get my details and arranging to come out to speak to me today.

They are focusing on the “welfare” powers moving to Holyrood this year and wanted a bit of background on what had happened to me, the effect having the car taken away from me had for those months leading up to the appeal and the difference having the car back has made. They also wanted to know what I hoped Holyrood would do different.

Was only a 10 minute chat but think I can only remember about half of what I said 😂 I’ve had the conversation about what I think is wrong with PIP constantly going round my head since I got the dreaded brown envelope (I have good chats with myself) so I’m fairly certain I didn’t ramble too much and positive I successfully avoided the urge to swear when talking about the DWP!

They interviewed some other people so they’ll be putting it all together over the next 2-3 weeks so I’ll let you know when it’s scheduled to be shown or be on the radio. I’ll be interested to see the similarities and differences in other people’s experiences of PIP.

I can only hope my words will be helpful to those still going through it and help others realise just what the DWP are doing to the most vulnerable in this country. I had said to them that I felt I was being punished by them for having MS. As if actually having something like MS wasn’t bad enough. No one should ever have to feel like that! 

Please, please, please Holyrood, learn from Westminsters mistakes and make sure we never feel that way here again.

Published by

Fendercali

I was diagnosed with Relapsing/Remitting MS in 2004 when I was 20. I originally started this page document my progress using Oxygen Therapy but now the new PIP has started to replace DLA and I, like so many others, have been told i am no longer eligible to receive a Motability Car and so I am fighting against the DWP to explain exactly why they are wrong.

Leave a Reply

